December 5, 2023
Gulberg III lahore, Pakistan
News Sportsinfo


For the past 137 years, England and Australia have competed in the Ashes series of test matches. In 1882, the Ashes series was first published. Here is a quick overview of Ashes’ beginnings.


Its moniker dates back to 29th August 1882, when Australia triumphed at The Oval, and was inspired by a mock obituary published by The Sporting Times. Australia finally won a test match in England!

How do you react? The supposed end of English cricket, but the beginning of the greatest Test series in the sport’s history.

In 1877, Australia and England played each other in Melbourne, Australia, for the first-ever test match. The Ashes mythology, though, didn’t start until eight more tests had been played. While in Britain, the Aussies played one test at London’s The Oval. In their first innings, Australia managed only 63 runs, and England eventually won the match by scoring 101.

England won easily on home soil with a score of 85 runs after Australia had progressed from 63 to 122. It seemed feasible, didn’t it? Wrong. Fred Spofforth, an Australian fast bowler, destroyed England by claiming his last four wickets for only two runs.

With only 10 runs needed to win, England’s last batsman only managed to score two before getting dismissed.

England’s home loss by 7 runs caused silence at the Oval.


There have been 330 tests and 70 series played since 1883. After Australia’s 4-0 series victory over England in 2017/18, Australia now has possession of the Ashes. However, England had won five of the last eight series, including a rare away victory in 2010/11.

It was the first time England had beaten their archrivals in an Ashes series since 1986, and the 2-1 series victory in 2005 stands out as one of the finest series ever in terms of drama.

However, since the turn of the century, England has held the upper hand, having not lost a home series to Australia since 2001.

Over the course of this epic battle’s history, the two countries’ positions could not have been more similar. Australia has won 33 series while England has won 32 and there have been five draws. It’s noteworthy to see that each side has won just over half of their series victories at home, while each has won 14 series victories, or 40% of all previous series victories, away from home.

About the Ashes, People say that the Ashes urn, which is made of earthenware, holds the ashes of a burned cricket bail. The height of the Ashes box is about 15 cm or 6 inches. The team that wins gets to keep the Ashes urn as a trophy.


For the past 138 years, England and Australia have competed in a test cricket series known as the Ashes. Australia has won 34 of the 71 Ashes series played, while England has won 32, and 6 have ended in a tie (draw).

In terms of the entire Ashes series, Australia has held the urn for 81 years whereas England has done so for 56. The series winner gets to keep the trophy, and the reigning champion gets to keep it if the series ends in a tie.

In the last two Ashes series, Australia has come out on top. Even though the series was tied at two games apiece in 2019, Australia kept the Ashes trophy they won in 2021-22.
Under Ben Stokes’s leadership, England has been performing well. They will do whatever it takes to prevent an Australian victory. From June 16th through July 31st, 2023, the Ashes will be played.

FROM 1882 TO 2022, you should know who won THE ASHES:

Australia now holds the Ashes after defeating England 4-0 in front of their home supporters in 2022. England previously won the series in 2015.

Here is a list of every Ashe’s series champion from 1882 until 2022.

1882-83England2-1 (3)Australia
1884England1-0 (3)England
1884-85England3-2 (5)Australia
1886England3-0 (3)England
1886-87England2-0 (3)Australia
1887-88England1-0 (1)Australia
1888England2-1 (3)England
1890England2-0 (2)England
1891-92Australia2-1 (3)Australia
1893England1-0 (3)England
1894-95England3-2 (5)Australia
1896England2-1 (3)England
1897-98Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1899Australia1-0 (5)England
1901-02Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1902Australia2-1 (5)England
1903-04England3-2 (5)Australia
1905England2-0 (5)England
1907-08Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1909Australia2-1 (5)England
1911-1912England4-1 (5)Australia
1912England1-0 (3)England
1920-21Australia5-0 (5)Australia
1921Australia3-0 (5)England
1924-25Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1926England1-0 (5)England
1928-29England4-1 (5)Australia
1930Australia2-1 (5)England
1932-33England4-1 (5)Australia
1934Australia2-1 (5)England
1936-37Australia3-2 (5)Australia
1938Draw1-1 (4)England
1946-47Australia3-0 (5)Australia
1948Australia4-0 (5)England
1950-51Australia4-1 (5)Australia
1953England1-0 (5)England
1954-55England3-1 (5)Australia
1956England2-1 (5)England
1958-59Australia4-0 (5)Australia
1961Australia2-1 (5)England
1962-63Draw1-1 (5)Australia
1964Australia1-0 (5)England
1965-66Draw1-1 (5)Australia
1968Draw1-1 (5)England
1970-71England2-0 (7)Australia
1972Draw2-2 (5)England
1974-75Australia4-1 (6)Australia
1975Australia1-0 (4)England
1977England3-0 (5)England
1978-79England5-1 (6)Australia
1981England3-1 (6)England
1982-83Australia2-1 (5)Australia
1985England3-1 (6)England
1986-87England2-1 (5)Australia
1989Australia4-0 (6)England
1990-91Australia3-0 (5)Australia
1993Australia4-1 (6)England
1994-95Australia3-1 (5)Australia
1997Australia3-2 (6)England
1998-99Australia3-1 (5)Australia
2001Australia4-1 (5)England
2002-03Australia4-1 (5)Australia
2005England2-1 (5)England
2006-07Australia5-0 (5)Australia
2009England2-1 (5)England
2010-11England3-1 (5)Australia
2013England3-0 (5)England
2013-14Australia5-0 (5)Australia
2015England3-2 (5)England
2017-18Australia4-0 (5)Australia
2019Draw2-2 (5)England
2022Australia4-0 (5)Australia



The Ashes are the trophy awarded to the champion of the cricket Test (international) match series between England and Australia’s select national teams every two years since the first series was played in 1877. The Australian team’s first triumph over the English at London’s Oval in 1882 inspired the epitaph that gave the stadium its name.

These 1883–2022 THE ASHES Facts were what gave it interest and helped to make it unforgettable. I hope you enjoyed the information; please leave any comments or questions below.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video